#NewMusicFriday: January 6, 2023

Each Friday, Stephen Mejias, AudioQuest’s Director of Communications and former Stereophile and Audiostream columnist, will browse through the many exciting albums released that day and select 15 worth a closer listen.

The Captain Francisco: Shot In The Heart (Stella Music)

Blanck Mass: The Rig (Prime Video Original Series Soundtrack) (Invada)

Fred Hersch, Esperanza Spalding: Alive at the Village Vanguard (Dolby Atmos) (Palmetto Records)

Ural Philharmonic Orchestra, Dmitry Liss, Andrei Korobeinikov: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2 & Symphony No. 2 (Outhere)

Dulces Exuviae, Romain Bockler, Bor Zuljan: Toutes les nuits (Outhere)

Yang Yang Cai: La Leggierezza (Challenge Records)

Yuri Kalnits, Igor Yuzefovich, Michael Csányi-Wills: Weinberg: Complete Works for Violin & Piano, Vol. 4 (Toccata Classics)

Matthias Goerne, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Florian Donderer: Schubert Revisited: Lieder Arranged for Baritone and Orchestra (Deutsche Grammophon)

Enrico Onofri, Imaginarium Ensemble: Telemann: Works for Violins Without Bass (Passacaille Records)

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Fazil Say: Janáček – Brahms – Bartók (Outhere)

Iggy Pop: EVERY LOSER (Atlantic Records)

Mario Brunello, Accademia dell’Annunciata, Riccardo Doni: Bach Transcriptions: Six Concertos for Violoncello Piccolo (Outhere)

Various Artists: Mozart: Krönungsmesse, K. 317 & Other Choral Works (Live) (BR-Klassik)

Peter Peter, Julian Winding: Copenhagen Cowboy (Netflix Original Series Soundtrack) (Sony  Music)

Homeboy Sandman: 12 Days of Christmas and Dia de Los Reyes (Dirty Looks)