Album of the Week: Otoboke Beaver

Otoboke Beaver describe themselves as: “Japanese girls ‘knock out or pound cake’ band.” ‘Nuff said. Sniff!

Think Minutemen (band) only faster, more frenetic, and angrier (and Kyoto, Japan). Otoboke Beaver, the name comes from a love hotel, is Accorinrin (Lead Vocal & Guitar), Yoyoyoshie (Guitar & Vocals), Hiro-chan (Bass & Vocals), and Kahokiss (Drums & Vocals) and their new record is called Itekoma Hits. 14 tracks in 28 minutes. Yea, 14 tracks in 28 minutes.

The album features 6 new tracks recorded in 2018 and a re-recording of “Akimahenka” and “After making love with me, You eat your wife’s meal” with Kaho Kiss drumming. The other tracks are from the recent Love Is Short and Bakuro Book EP’s.

While we’re on great track names, here’s the complete list:

1. Datsu . Hikage no onna
2. Akimahenka (2019)
3. S’il vous plait
4. Bakuro book
5. What do you mean you have talk to me at this late date?
6. Introduce me to your family
7. Love is short
8. Bad luck
9. Don’t light my fire
10. 6 day working week is a pain
11. Binge eating binge drinking bulimia
12. I’m tired of your repeating story
13. Anata watashi daita ato yome no meshi
14. Mean (clocking in at 00:18)

Combine that with this:

And you’ve got a band and an album I’ve listened to 907 times in the last 2 days. My adrenal glands have asked for time off.

Listen here, buy there (I may have to get the signed picture disk):